Creative (scaredy) Cat?

November 4, 2013
I just read this post called “How We can All Learn from the Creativity of a Child” and it made me smile. We had just looked at the principles of designs in class recently and it became clear to me that I’m afraid to be creative. Whatever that means. I’ve gone through life, and specifically put myself on a career path that requires me to tap into some sort of creativeness that I’m terrified to tap into. In reading this post, I realized that many of us are so scared to allow our creativity to shine through out of fear. Fear of being rejected, fear of one person not liking our ideas, fear of failing. The beauty of the post I read is that the author is so right, we can all learn from the creativity of a child, if we just take the time to notice and nurture.
Her daughter’s idea was simple – she wanted to fly. To an adult, that seems preposterous. You can’t fly. We can’t even do a photoshoot to make it look like you’re flying because it just doesn’t make sense and it would be too hard. We put so many barriers on ourselves right away without even really thinking it over. The beauty of the mind of a child is that there are no barriers. She wanted to make it look like she was flying, and she knew her mom could help her, with just a little effort.
As adults, and as professionals I think it’s important to remind ourselves sometimes that barriers are non-existent. They are there because we put them there. Yes, there are standards that we professionals must abide by, but that doesn’t mean that we can’t let a little of ourselves, our creativity shine through in our work. As a marketing professional, creativity is embraced and encouraged. I guess this makes me lucky…?
So I guess it’s time for me to suck it up, open my mind, and hang out with some kids.

Leave a Reply

